CTrees is a nonprofit organization on a mission to track carbon in every tree on the planet and to deliver science-based geospatial data for enabling natural climate solutions at all scales.

Learn more
Who we are

We are scientists and engineers with over 20 years of experience in building global carbon monitoring systems and solutions that have informed climate change policies.

Our leading experts work alongside public and private partners to provide operational data to national and state governments, project developers, investors, and decision makers.

Sassan Saatchi

Co-founder and CEO, CTrees

Senior Research Scientist, JPL/Caltech; Professor, UCLA/IOES

Aleena Ashary

Head of Data & Products

Ian Bergland

Director of Finance & Operations

Griffin Carter

Data Analyst

Ricardo Dalagnol da Silva

Research Scientist

Phil Decola

Co-founder, CTrees; Co-chair of WMO Integrated Global GHG Information System

Stephanie George

Research Scientist

Shivraj Gill

Machine Learning Engineer

Nich Kwon

Data Engineer

Shuang Li

Research Scientist

Zhihua (Zack) Liu

Research Scientist

Ken Matsunaga

Science Intern

Daniel Melling

Head of Marketing

Adugna Mullissa

Research Scientist

Fiona Osborn

Data Analyst

Le Bienfaiteur Sagang

Research Scientist

Fabien Wagner

Research Scientist

Naomi Provost

Data Engineer

Vaiman Shum


Raymond Song

Carbon Markets & Policy Lead

Susana Tran

Administrative Assistant

Matthew Resnick

Machine Learning Engineer

Yan Yang

Research Scientist

Denmark Scientific Partners
Martin Brandt

Co-founder, CTrees; Professor, Geography, University of Copenhagen

Rasmus Fensholt

Professor, Geography, University of Copenhagen

Dimitri Gominski

Research Scientist

Sizhuo Li

Research Scientist

Siyu Liu

Research Scientist

Maurice Mugabowindekwe

Research Scientist

Florian Reiner

Research Scientist

France Scientific Partners
Philippe Ciais

Co-founder, CTrees; Research Director at Institut Pierre-Simon Laplace (IPSL)

Jean-Pierre Wigneron

Co-founder, CTrees; Head of the INRAE Remote Sensing Lab, Bordeaux

Arthur Calvi

Data Analyst

Ibrahim Fayad

Research Scientist

Yu Feng

Research Scientist

Sami Jouaber

Research Scientist

Agnès Pellissier-Tanon

Research Scientist

François Ritter

Research Scientist

Martin Schwartz

Data Analyst

Yidi Xu

Research Scientist

Brazil Scientific Partners
Celso H.L. Silva Junior

Research Scientist

Luiz Aragão

Senior Scientist Head of Earth Observation and Geoinformatics Division, National Institute for Space Research (INPE)

Liana Anderson

Research Scientist

Board of Directors
Dee Lawrence

Director and co-founder of High Tide Foundation, a private and charitable foundation committed to fighting climate change


William Boyd

Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law; Professor, UCLA Institute of the Environment and Sustainability; Project Lead, Governors' Climate and Forests Task Force (GCF)


Caroline de Bossart

Director, Grantham Foundation


Scientific Advisors
Susan Cook-Patton

Senior Forest Restoration Scientist, The Nature Conservancy


Jerome Chave

Laboratoire Évolution & Diversité Biologique, Université Toulouse Paul Sabatier


KC Cushman

Postdoctoral Fellow, NASA JPL


Alexandre d'Aspremont

Professor of Computer Science, Department at Ecole Normale Superieure


Grant Domke

Forest Carbon Scientist, US Forest Service


Samuel Favrichon

Remote Sensing Scientist, Caltech/NASA JPL


Giacomo Grassi

Senior Scientific Officer, Joint Research Centre of the European Commission


Thelma Krug

Vice Chair, IPCC


Ron McRoberts

Forest Statistician, Raspberry Ridge Analytics


Gert-Jan Nabuurs

Professor European Forest Resources, Wageningen University and Research; Lead Scientist European Forest Resources, Wageningen Environmental Research (Alterra)

The Netherlands

Antoine Rostand

President & Founder, Kayrros


Herman Shugart

Professor Emeritus of Forest Ecology, University of Virginia


Miles Silman

Professor of Biology and Director, Center for Energy, Environment & Sustainability, Wake Forest University


Compton Tucker

Senior Scientist, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center


Lee White

Minister of Water, Forests, the Sea, and Environment


Please, use new browser.
We use modern web technologies which are not supported with your outdated browser.